Looking for Alibrandi

Josephine Alibrandi is seventeen, and in her final year of school.

Looking for Alibrandi

Author: Melina Marchetta

Publisher: ReadHowYouWant.com

ISBN: 145962128X

Page: 342

View: 434

Josephine Alibrandi is seventeen, and in her final year of school. Dealing with her mum and the ways of her Nonna are daunting enough as she prepares for her exams. But Josie is about to discover real life gets in the way of her carefully-made plans. Winner of Children's Book Council Queensland BILBY Awards: Older Reader 2000.

Looking for Alibrandi

"'Looking for Alibrandi', the novel was published to critical acclaim in 1993. It won CBC Book of the Year Award, the Multicultural Book of the Year Award, and the Kids Own Literature Award (KOALA)".

Looking for Alibrandi

Author: Melina Marchetta

Publisher:

ISBN: 9780868196237

Page: 95

View: 997

This play chronicles a year in the life of Josie Alibrandi, a third generation Italian-Australian on the brink of adulthood. In her last year of school Josie grapples with the awkwardness of first love, the grief of unexpected death and discovers the secrets of her family history. It's a turbulent year for Josie as she seeks to define her place in the world. Brimming with warmth, humour and vitality, Looking for Alibrandi puts the desire to be independent against the need to belong in a story that will appeal to all ages. The full screenplay and stills from the film are published here with an overview from Anna Maria Dell'oso and an essay from author Melina Marchetta about adapting her award-winning novel for the screen.

Looking for Alibrandi Australian Children s Classics

I'm beginning to realise that things don't turn our the way you want them to.

Looking for Alibrandi  Australian Children s Classics

Author: Melina Marchetta

Publisher: Penguin Group Australia

ISBN: 1743482914

Page: 328

View: 898

I'm beginning to realise that things don't turn our the way you want them to. And sometimes when they don't, they can turn out just a little bit better. Every so often, there comes a story so brilliant and lively and moving that it cannot be left in the past. Rediscover the magic of our country's most memorable children's books in the Penguin Australia Children's Classics series of stories too precious to leave behind.

Melina Marchetta s Looking for Alibrandi

Of text - Main characters - Themes - Activities - Writing activities - Contains chapter on Melina Marchetta - Famous Australian Italians_______________

Melina Marchetta s Looking for Alibrandi

Author: Archimede Fusillo

Publisher:

ISBN: 9781875739752

Page: 44

View: 295

Of text - Main characters - Themes - Activities - Writing activities - Contains chapter on Melina Marchetta - Famous Australian Italians_______________

Looking for Alibrandi

Looking for Alibrandi

Author: Mark Stracey

Publisher: Heinemann

ISBN: 9781740814577

Page: 38

View: 780

The Heinemann English Project is a series of lively and colourful topic books for Years 7-10 English. Each book is devoted to a theme, skill or approach at the heart of English in Australian classrooms. LOOKING FOR ALIBRANDI explores Melina Marchetta's novel, opening up its themes and issues for students in a practical way, moving from concrete details of plot and characters, through to more complex considerations of issues and themes. It provides background information on historical and geographic setting, as well as looking at the life of the author. Multiculturalism, families, sense of self, pressures of adolescence and more are explored in this thoughtful and valuable resource.

The NEAP Guide to Looking for Alibrandi Melina Marchetta

Notes on author - Synopsis - Historical and cultural context - Main character - Themes - Character summaries and key quotes - Essay questions___

The NEAP Guide to Looking for Alibrandi  Melina Marchetta

Author: Jane Tibby

Publisher:

ISBN: 9781876293642

Page: 38

View: 298

Notes on author - Synopsis - Historical and cultural context - Main character - Themes - Character summaries and key quotes - Essay questions___

Australian Cinema After Mabo

In Looking for Alibrandi ( Kate Woods , 2000 ) , Head On ( Ana Kokkinos , 1998 )
and Beneath Clouds ( Ivan Sen , 2002 ) stories of coming of age reveal a picture
of young Australians as the inheritors of a nation divided on issues of race ...

Australian Cinema After Mabo

Author: Felicity Collins

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 9780521542562

Page: 204

View: 495

Publisher Description

Something about the Author

Voice of Youth Advocates , June , 1999 , review of Looking for Alibrandi , p . 115 ;
October , 2004 , Betsy Fraser , review of Saving Francesca , p . 304 . ONLINE
Writing in the Bulletin of the Center for Children ' s Books , Deborah Stevenson ...

Something about the Author

Author: Lisa Kumar

Publisher: Gale / Cengage Learning

ISBN: 9780787687946

Page: 207

View: 752

Covers individuals ranging from established award winners to authors and illustrators who are just beginning their careers. Entries cover: personal life, career, writings and works in progress, adaptations, additional sources, and photographs.

Saving Francesca

Simultaneously humorous, poignant, and impossible to put down, this is the story of a girl who must summon the strength to save her family, her social life, and—hardest of all—herself.

Saving Francesca

Author: Melina Marchetta

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

ISBN: 0307433714

Page: 256

View: 224

Before there was Eleanor and Park, there was Francesca and Will. A compelling story of romance, family, and friendship, with humor and heart, perfect for fans of If I Stay, The Spectacular Now, and Looking for Alaska. Francesca is stuck at St. Sebastian’s, a boys' school that pretends it's coed by giving the girls their own bathroom. Her only female companions are an ultra-feminist, a rumored slut, and an impossibly dorky accordion player. The boys are no better, from Thomas, who specializes in musical burping, to Will, the perpetually frowning, smug moron that Francesca can't seem to stop thinking about. Then there's Francesca's mother, who always thinks she knows what's best for Francesca—until she is suddenly stricken with acute depression, leaving Francesca lost, alone, and without an inkling of who she really is. Simultaneously humorous, poignant, and impossible to put down, this is the story of a girl who must summon the strength to save her family, her social life, and—hardest of all—herself. Melina Marchetta is the Printz-winning author of Jellicoe Road, as well as Looking for Alibrandi and Finnikin of the Rock.