Looking for Alibrandi

Josephine Alibrandi is seventeen, and in her final year of school.

Looking for Alibrandi

Author: Melina Marchetta

Publisher: ReadHowYouWant.com

ISBN: 145962128X

Page: 342

View: 336

Josephine Alibrandi is seventeen, and in her final year of school. Dealing with her mum and the ways of her Nonna are daunting enough as she prepares for her exams. But Josie is about to discover real life gets in the way of her carefully-made plans. Winner of Children's Book Council Queensland BILBY Awards: Older Reader 2000.

Marchetta M Looking for Alibrandi Growing up in Looking for Alibrandi

Seminar paper from the year 2004 in the subject English - Literature, Works, grade: 1,5 (A), Karlsruhe University of Education (Institute for Foreign Languages and Language Research), course: Growing up Ethnic in Australia, language: ...

Marchetta  M    Looking for Alibrandi  Growing up in  Looking for Alibrandi

Author: Dajana Gleim

Publisher: GRIN Verlag

ISBN: 3638270092

Page: 28

View: 280

Seminar paper from the year 2004 in the subject English - Literature, Works, grade: 1,5 (A), Karlsruhe University of Education (Institute for Foreign Languages and Language Research), course: Growing up Ethnic in Australia, language: English, abstract: The novel Looking for Alibrandi written by Melina Marchetta was first published by Penguin in 1992. By now it has been published in Denmark, Italy, Germany, Spain, Norway and Canada (cf. Tudball & White 1999: 11). It has received numerous prestigious awards, for example, it became “1993 Children’s Book of the Year (for older readers)” and “Multicultural Book of the Year” (cf. Bednarek 2000: 39f.). The novel points out topical aspects, like multiculturalism, immigration, social differences, but also themes like love, friendship and family life. It is the story of a teenage girl who grows up with an Italian-Australian identity and faces the highs and lows of teenage life. In an interview (cf. Scan 1993: 1), Melina Marchetta talked about her reasons for writing for young adults and said that she “finds this group fascinating, identifies strongly with it and likes the stage teenagers are at of being so open to change and growth, so vulnerable yet so exuberant”. She thinks that she is very similar to them in tastes. For this reason, she is able to write about teenagers with truth and in the language they really use. Another point is that she is a young author, she was born in 1965. Consequently, she is not much older than the teenagers she describes. The essential concern Melina Marchetta persues in her writing is “growth through the interaction of characters”. The novel Looking for Alibrandi reveals her concern and is about Josephine Alibrandi’s way to freedom through the interaction of her family, friends and other significant people. The following essay deals particularly with the aspect of growing up in a multicultural society.

Looking for Alibrandi Australian Children s Classics

I'm beginning to realise that things don't turn our the way you want them to.

Looking for Alibrandi  Australian Children s Classics

Author: Melina Marchetta

Publisher: Penguin Group Australia

ISBN: 1743482914

Page: 328

View: 418

I'm beginning to realise that things don't turn our the way you want them to. And sometimes when they don't, they can turn out just a little bit better. Every so often, there comes a story so brilliant and lively and moving that it cannot be left in the past. Rediscover the magic of our country's most memorable children's books in the Penguin Australia Children's Classics series of stories too precious to leave behind.

Looking for Alibrandi

Looking for Alibrandi

Author: Mark Stracey

Publisher: Heinemann

ISBN: 9781740814577

Page: 38

View: 166

The Heinemann English Project is a series of lively and colourful topic books for Years 7-10 English. Each book is devoted to a theme, skill or approach at the heart of English in Australian classrooms. LOOKING FOR ALIBRANDI explores Melina Marchetta's novel, opening up its themes and issues for students in a practical way, moving from concrete details of plot and characters, through to more complex considerations of issues and themes. It provides background information on historical and geographic setting, as well as looking at the life of the author. Multiculturalism, families, sense of self, pressures of adolescence and more are explored in this thoughtful and valuable resource.

Melina Marchetta s Looking for Alibrandi

Of text - Main characters - Themes - Activities - Writing activities - Contains chapter on Melina Marchetta - Famous Australian Italians_______________

Melina Marchetta s Looking for Alibrandi

Author: Archimede Fusillo

Publisher:

ISBN: 9781875739752

Page: 44

View: 216

Of text - Main characters - Themes - Activities - Writing activities - Contains chapter on Melina Marchetta - Famous Australian Italians_______________

The NEAP Guide to Looking for Alibrandi Melina Marchetta

Notes on author - Synopsis - Historical and cultural context - Main character - Themes - Character summaries and key quotes - Essay questions___

The NEAP Guide to Looking for Alibrandi  Melina Marchetta

Author: Jane Tibby

Publisher:

ISBN: 9781876293642

Page: 38

View: 452

Notes on author - Synopsis - Historical and cultural context - Main character - Themes - Character summaries and key quotes - Essay questions___

Australian Cinema After Mabo

In Looking for Alibrandi ( Kate Woods , 2000 ) , Head On ( Ana Kokkinos , 1998 )
and Beneath Clouds ( Ivan Sen , 2002 ) stories of coming of age reveal a picture
of young Australians as the inheritors of a nation divided on issues of race ...

Australian Cinema After Mabo

Author: Felicity Collins

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 9780521542562

Page: 204

View: 208

Publisher Description

Saving Francesca

Simultaneously humorous, poignant, and impossible to put down, this is the story of a girl who must summon the strength to save her family, her social life, and—hardest of all—herself.

Saving Francesca

Author: Melina Marchetta

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

ISBN: 9780307433718

Page: 256

View: 422

Before there was Eleanor and Park, there was Francesca and Will. A compelling story of romance, family, and friendship, with humor and heart, perfect for fans of If I Stay, The Spectacular Now, and Looking for Alaska. Francesca is stuck at St. Sebastian’s, a boys' school that pretends it's coed by giving the girls their own bathroom. Her only female companions are an ultra-feminist, a rumored slut, and an impossibly dorky accordion player. The boys are no better, from Thomas, who specializes in musical burping, to Will, the perpetually frowning, smug moron that Francesca can't seem to stop thinking about. Then there's Francesca's mother, who always thinks she knows what's best for Francesca—until she is suddenly stricken with acute depression, leaving Francesca lost, alone, and without an inkling of who she really is. Simultaneously humorous, poignant, and impossible to put down, this is the story of a girl who must summon the strength to save her family, her social life, and—hardest of all—herself. Melina Marchetta is the Printz-winning author of Jellicoe Road, as well as Looking for Alibrandi and Finnikin of the Rock.