Orphans of Empire

The story of what happened to the orphaned and abandoned children of the London Foundling Hospital, and the consequences of Georgian philanthropy.

Orphans of Empire

Author: Helen Berry

Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA

ISBN: 0198758480

Page: 364

View: 946

The story of what happened to the orphaned and abandoned children of the London Foundling Hospital, and the consequences of Georgian philanthropy. From serving Britain's growing global empire in the Royal Navy, to the suffering of child workers in the Industrial Revolution, the Foundling Hospital was no simple act of charity

Orphans of Empire

This is an immersive, shimmering novel." —Steven Price, author of #1 nationally bestselling By Gaslight and Giller-shortlisted Lampedusa In Grant Buday's new novel, three captivating stories intertwine at the site of the New Brighton ...

Orphans of Empire

Author: Grant Buday

Publisher: TouchWood Editions

ISBN: 1927366909

Page: 272

View: 101

"Meticulously researched and vividly drawn, Orphans of Empire brings to life the half-forgotten world of early British Columbia. This is an immersive, shimmering novel." —Steven Price, author of #1 nationally bestselling By Gaslight and Giller-shortlisted Lampedusa In Grant Buday's new novel, three captivating stories intertwine at the site of the New Brighton Hotel on the shores of Burrard Inlet. In 1858 the serious and devoted Sir Richard Clement Moody receives the commission of a lifetime when he is sent to help establish "a second England"—what is now British Columbia. In 1865 Frisadie, an eighteen-year-old Kanaka housemaid, who is more entrepreneur than ingénue, arrives in New Brighton from Hawaii. She convinces Maxie Michaud to purchase the hotel with her, and it soon becomes the toast of the inlet. In 1885 Henry Fannin, a young, curious embalmer and magnetism devotee, having struck out in London and San Francisco, arrives in New Brighton and promptly falls in love with a tragic woman he hears crying on his first night at the hotel. Endearing, funny, and highly evocative of time and place, Orphans of Empire celebrates those living in the shadow of history's supposed heroes, their private struggles and personal agendas. Readers who loved Michael Crummey's Galore and Eowyn Ivey's To the Bright Edge of the World, will love this vivid novel of arrivals that prods at the ethics of settlement.

Orphans of The Empire

'This book draws back the curtain on a part of Australian and British history that has been crying out for recognition. All Australians shoud read it' Sir Ronald Wilson 'This story is remarkable.

Orphans of The Empire

Author: Alan Gill

Publisher: Random House Australia

ISBN: 1742747639

Page: 320

View: 870

This is a book about the white stolen children - a lost tribe - who were sent to Australia with dreams of a better life, but who, in reality, often suffered great cruelty and abuse. 'This book draws back the curtain on a part of Australian and British history that has been crying out for recognition. All Australians shoud read it' Sir Ronald Wilson 'This story is remarkable. Even more remarkable is the fact that, until now, it was largely untold. This is an important story, an important part of Australia's story and long overdue' David Hill 'Orphans of the Empire is unusually affecting, hard to put down..' Geraldine Doogue An account of the white 'stolen children', who were supposedly orphans arriving in Australia from many countries to a better future, but who in reality simply came from poor families and arrived to uncertain futures and often extremely abusive environments in various institutions. More than 80,000 people were directly involved in this experience as 'orphans', while thousands more have been affected by the experience as children and relatives of the orphans, and as Australian-born children who were also living in the institutions described in this book. Although there were occasional great acts of kindness towards these children there was also systematic abuse of all kinds. Orphans of the Empire is based on hundreds of hours of taped interviews with men and women who came to Australia as child migrants. It is the complete and shocking story that was first made known through 4 Corners and 60 Minutes stories and the BBC's very popular Leaving Of Liverpool series.

Orphan Texts

" "Orphan Texts will of interest to final year undergraduates, postgraduates, academics and those interested in the areas of Victorian literature, Victorian studies, postcolonial studies, history and popular culture."--BOOK JACKET.

Orphan Texts

Author: Laura Peters

Publisher: Manchester University Press

ISBN: 9780719052323

Page: 158

View: 701

"The study argues that the prevalence of the orphan figure can be explained by considering the family. The family and all it came to represent - legitimacy, race and national belonging - was in crisis. In order to reaffirm itself the family needed a scapegoat: it found one in the orphan figure. As one who embodied the loss of the family, the orphan figure came to represent a dangerous threat to the family; and the family reaffirmed itself through the expulsion of this threatening difference. The vulnerable and miserable condition of the orphan, as one without rights, enabled it to be conceived of, and treated as such, by the very institutions responsible for its care." "Orphan Texts will of interest to final year undergraduates, postgraduates, academics and those interested in the areas of Victorian literature, Victorian studies, postcolonial studies, history and popular culture."--BOOK JACKET.

Convicts and Orphans

This book examines how the early modern Portuguese state used convicts and orphans to populate its global empire.

Convicts and Orphans

Author: Timothy J. Coates

Publisher: Stanford University Press

ISBN: 9780804733595

Page: 259

View: 134

This book examines how the early modern Portuguese state used convicts and orphans to populate its global empire. In addition, it addresses the issue of gender in the state's use of two distinct groups of single women as colonizers, orphan girls and reformed prostitutes, each given state-awarded dowries if they agreed to relocate overseas.

The Civil Code of the German Empire

237 ) , concerning the Care of Widow's and Orphans of members of the Army of
the Empire and of the Imperial Marine , is repealed . Act Concerning Book of
Debts of the Empire . ARTICLE 50. § 9 of the Act of May 31 , 1891 , concerning
the ...

The Civil Code of the German Empire

Author: Germany

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page: 689

View: 578

Orphans

... the Poor, An (Hanway), 125 Easedale orphans, 34–6 East India Company, 54–
5 Ebola, 39 economic crisis (1629–31), ... 13, 110, 157, 158, 232, 262, 263–4
Empire, see British Empire Empire Day, 233 endometriosis, 20 Enfield,
Middlesex, ...

Orphans

Author: Jeremy Seabrook

Publisher: Hurst & Company

ISBN: 1849049424

Page: 320

View: 858

Orphans, like widows, have always officially been objects of piety and compassion. But this has rarely been reflected in their treatment by society, which has often punished, abused or ill-treated them. Orphans illuminates the attitudes behind this maltreatment - often, that those withoutparents are disruptive or malevolent, and must be trained into wholesome disciplines of labour and obedience. Charting the changing and often loose definitions of "orphans" throughout history, Seabrook explores their many "makers", from natural or man-made catastrophes and social dislocation to the State, charity and other forces that have separated children, especially the poor, from their close kin.Drawing on historic documents, interviews, memoirs and living testimonies, Jeremy Seabrook probes how it has felt to belong to this distinctive, and often stigmatised, group over the centuries. This history is not only one of suffering - Orphans also reveals the uncounted millions taken in and loved by relatives, neighbours or strangers. Driven by their insecurity and freedom from constraints, their achievements have often been remarkable.

Orphans and Destitute Children in the Late Ottoman Empire

Throughout the book, Maksudyan does not lose sight of her lead actors, and the influence of the children is always present if we simply listen and notice carefully as Maksudyan so convincingly argues.

Orphans and Destitute Children in the Late Ottoman Empire

Author: Nazan Maksudyan

Publisher: Syracuse University Press

ISBN: 0815652976

Page: 232

View: 478

History books often weave tales of rising and falling empires, royal dynasties, and wars among powerful nations. Here, Maksudyan succeeds in making those who are farthest removed from power the lead actors in this history. Focusing on orphans and destitute youth of the late Ottoman Empire, the author gives voice to those children who have long been neglected. Their experiences and perspectives shed new light on many significant developments of the late Ottoman period, providing an alternative narrative that recognizes children as historical agents. Maksudyan takes the reader from the intimate world of infant foundlings to the larger international context of missionary orphanages, all while focusing on Ottoman modernization, urbanization, citizenship, and the maintenance of order and security. Drawing upon archival records, she explores the ways in which the treatment of orphans intersected with welfare, labor, and state building in the Empire. Throughout the book, Maksudyan does not lose sight of her lead actors, and the influence of the children is always present if we simply listen and notice carefully as Maksudyan so convincingly argues.

The illustrated history of the British empire in India and the East to the suppression of the Sepoy mutiny in 1859 With a continuation by another author to the end of 1878

In the same year the & c . ; 760 orphans of soldiers , seamen , & c . ; departure of
Sir James Outram , the Bayard 63 widows or relatives of officers ; 69 orphans of
India , called forth expressions of goodwill of officers , and 142 disabled soldiers
 ...

The illustrated history of the British empire in India and the East     to the suppression of the Sepoy mutiny in 1859  With a continuation  by another author  to the end of 1878

Author: Edward Henry Nolan

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page:

View: 988

The History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire

A small portion of ground , the patrimony of two orphans , was acquired by gift or
purchase ; 121 on that chosen spot he built a house and a mosch , more
venerable in their rude simplicity than the palaces and temples of the Assyrian
caliphs .

The History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page: 604

View: 632