The Court of Broken Knives

Though he is young, ambitious, and impossibly charming, something dark hides in Marith's past -- and in his blood. Dive into this new fantasy series for readers looking for epic battle scenes, gritty heroes, and blood-soaked revenge.

The Court of Broken Knives

Author: Anna Smith Spark

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0316511439

Page: 512

View: 246

Perfect for fans of Mark Lawrence and R Scott Bakker, The Court of Broken Knives is the explosive debut by one of grimdark fantasy's most exciting new voices. Shortlisted for the British Fantasy Award for Best Novel Shortlisted for the David Gemmell Morningstar Award It is the richest empire the world has ever known, and it is also doomed--but only one man can see it. Haunted by prophetic dreams, Orhan has hired a company of soldiers to cross the desert to reach the capital city. Once they enter the palace, they have one mission: kill the emperor, then all those who remain. Only from the ashes can a new empire be built. The company is a group of good, ordinary soldiers for whom this is a mission like any other. But the strange boy Marith who walks among them is no ordinary soldier. Though he is young, ambitious, and impossibly charming, something dark hides in Marith's past--and in his blood. Dive into this new fantasy series for readers looking for epic battle scenes, gritty heroes, and blood-soaked revenge.

The House of Sacrifice

God's knives, that's hardly a catastrophe unmatched in a thousand human
lifetimes. Everything I imagined came to pass, the ... went up to him and kissed
him on the cheek. In the Court of the Broken Knife a woman was sitting weeping
beneath ...

The House of Sacrifice

Author: Anna Smith Spark

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 031651151X

Page: 576

View: 195

A powerhouse grimdark fantasy of bloodshed, ambition, and fate, The House of Sacrifice is the thunderous conclusion to Anna Smith Spark's Empires of Dust trilogy, which began with The Court of Broken Knives. Marith Altrersyr has won. He cut a path of blood and vengeance and needless violence around the world and now he rules. It is time for Marith to put down his sword, to send home his armies, to grow a beard and become fat. It is time to look to his own house, and to produce an heir. The King of Death must now learn to live.But some things cannot be learnt. The spoils of war turn to ash in the mouths of the Amrath Army and soon they are on the move again. But Marith, lord of lies, dragon-killer, father-killer, has begun to falter and his mind decays. How long can a warlord rotting from within continue to win? As the Army marches on to Sorlost, Thalia's thoughts turn to home and to the future: a life grows inside her and it is a precious thing - but it grows weak. Why must the sins of the father curse the child? Empires of DustThe Court of Broken KnivesThe Tower of Living and DyingThe House of Sacrifice

The Tower of Living and Dying

Read the second book in this "gritty and glorious!" (Miles Cameron) epic fantasy series reminiscent of Joe Abercrombie and Mark Lawrence where the exiled son of a king fights to reclaim his throne no matter the cost.

The Tower of Living and Dying

Author: Anna Smith Spark

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0316511455

Page: 560

View: 579

A powerhouse story of bloodshed, ambition, and fate, The Tower of Living and Dying is a continuation of Anna Smith Spark's brilliant Empires of Dust trilogy, which began with The Court of Broken Knives. Marith has been a sellsword, a prince, a murderer, a demon, and dead. But something keeps bringing him back to life, and now there is nothing stopping him from taking back the throne that is rightfully his. Thalia, the former high priestess, remains Marith's only tenuous grasp to whatever goodness he has left. His left hand and his last source of light, Thalia still believes that the power that lies within him can be used for better ends. But as more forces gather beneath Marith's banner, she can feel her influence slipping. Read the second book in this "gritty and glorious!" (Miles Cameron) epic fantasy series reminiscent of Joe Abercrombie and Mark Lawrence where the exiled son of a king fights to reclaim his throne no matter the cost. Empires of DustThe Court of Broken KnivesThe Tower of Living and Dying

The Fires of Vengeance

THE FIRES OF VENGEANCE CONTINUES THE UNMISSABLE EPIC FANTASY SERIES THAT BEGAN WITH EVAN WINTER'S ACCLAIMED DEBUT THE RAGE OF DRAGONS Praise for The Rage of Dragons: 'Intense, inventive and action-packed from beginning to end - a ...

The Fires of Vengeance

Author: Evan Winter

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0356512975

Page: 544

View: 819

'CAPTIVATING EPIC FANTASY FROM A MAJOR NEW TALENT' Anthony Ryan, on The Rage of Dragons Desperate to delay an impending attack by the indigenous people of Xidda, Tau and his queen craft a dangerous plan. If Tau succeeds, the queen will have the time she needs to assemble her forces and launch an all-out assault on her own capital city, where her sister is being propped up as the 'true' Queen of the Omehi. If the city can be taken, if Tsiora can reclaim her throne and reunite her people, then the Omehi might have a chance to survive the coming onslaught. THE FIRES OF VENGEANCE CONTINUES THE UNMISSABLE EPIC FANTASY SERIES THAT BEGAN WITH EVAN WINTER'S ACCLAIMED DEBUT THE RAGE OF DRAGONS Praise for The Rage of Dragons: 'Intense, inventive and action-packed from beginning to end - a relentlessly gripping, brilliant read' James Islington, author of The Shadow of What Was Lost 'Stunning debut fantasy' Publishers Weekly 'Intense, vivid and brilliantly realised - a necessary read'Anna Smith Spark, author of The Court of Broken Knives 'Impossible to put down' Rick Riordan 'People ask the last book I couldn't put down, and I tell them The Rage of Dragons. The tension rises with every page until you fear it will break you in two' Peter V. Brett, bestselling author of The Painted Man 'Fans of Anthony Ryan's Blood Song will love this' Django Wexler, author of The Thousand Names 'A Xhosa-inspired world complete with magic, dragons, demons and curses, The Rage of Dragons takes classic fantasy and imbues it with a fresh and exciting twist' Anna Stephens, author of Godblind

The Rage of Dragons

THE RAGE OF DRAGONS LAUNCHES AN UNMISSABLE EPIC FANTASY SERIES.

The Rage of Dragons

Author: Evan Winter

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0356512932

Page: 544

View: 927

'A captivating epic fantasy from a major new talent' Anthony Ryan, author of Blood Song 'Intense, inventive and action-packed from beginning to end - a relentlessly gripping, brilliant read' James Islington, author of The Shadow of What Was Lost IN A WORLD CONSUMED BY ENDLESS WAR ONE YOUNG MAN WILL BECOME HIS PEOPLE'S ONLY HOPE FOR SURVIVAL. The Omehi people have been fighting an unwinnable war for generations. The lucky ones are born gifted: some have the power to call down dragons, others can be magically transformed into bigger, stronger, faster killing machines. Everyone else is fodder, destined to fight and die in the endless war. Tau Tafari wants more than this, but his plans of escape are destroyed when those closest to him are brutally murdered. With too few gifted left, the Omehi are facing genocide, but Tau cares only for revenge. Following an unthinkable path, he will strive to become the greatest swordsman to ever live, willing to die a hundred thousand times for the chance to kill three of his own people. THE RAGE OF DRAGONS LAUNCHES AN UNMISSABLE EPIC FANTASY SERIES. 'Stunning debut fantasy' Publishers Weekly 'Intense, vivid and brilliantly realised - a necessary read' Anna Smith Spark, author of The Court of Broken Knives 'Fans of Anthony Ryan's Blood Song will love this' Django Wexler, author of The Thousand Names 'A Xhosa-inspired world complete with magic, dragons, demons and curses, The Rage of Dragons takes classic fantasy and imbues it with a fresh and exciting twist' Anna Stephens, author of Godblind

Grimdark Magazine Issue 14

Our stories are grim, our worlds are dark and our morally grey protagonists and anti-heroes light the way with bloody stories of war, betrayal and action.FICTION- Beasts of the Burnished Chain by Alex Marshall (Novelette)NON-FICITON- ...

Grimdark Magazine Issue  14

Author: Eric Scott de Bie

Publisher: Grimdark Magazine

ISBN: 0648178455

Page:

View: 251

Grimdark Magazine presents the darker, grittier side of fantasy and science fiction. Each quarterly issue features established and new authors to take you through their hard-bitten worlds alongside articles, reviews and interviews. Our stories are grim, our worlds are dark and our morally grey protagonists and anti-heroes light the way with bloody stories of war, betrayal and action.FICTION- Beasts of the Burnished Chain by Alex Marshall (Novelette)NON-FICITON- Finding Your Author Voice by Anna Smith-Spark- An Interview with Steven Erikson- An Interview with Erik Scott de Bie- Review of Smoke Eaters Sean Grigsby- Review of The Armored Saint by Myke Cole

An Encyclopaedia of Freemasonry and Its Kindred Sciences Comprising the Whole Range of Arts Sciences and Literature as Connected with the Institution

Length , 135 cubits ; round the courts were fixed the “ Slabs of breadth , 11 cubits
. Warning ... Chambers of Broken Knives . No man was ... The Chel ; space
between smaller wall chambers for sheep , baking , etc. and wall of court . 43.
House ...

An Encyclopaedia of Freemasonry and Its Kindred Sciences  Comprising the Whole Range of Arts  Sciences and Literature as Connected with the Institution

Author: Albert Gallatin Mackey

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page: 1052

View: 244

The Southeastern Reporter

Other er A witness testified for defendant that he drug - stores sell knives , harps ,
and cologne had known defendant 6 or 7 ... said they got a brace and bit about
300 is 10 years old ; bought the harp at a yards from the court - house , and that
the ... the store broken , the other not ; and a 2d , and 3d days of September ,
1888 , he witness also recognized some harps which was at her house in
Tallapoosa .

The Southeastern Reporter

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page:

View: 445

Proceedings of the Royal Irish Academy

Three came from pre - cairn levels at one site , fourteen from the gallery areas at
eight tombs , twelve from the courts of four ... Twenty - two of these knives are
broken , eleven of which ( Ballyalton 27 , 28 ; Bavan 8 , 28 ; Ballymarlagh 18 , 20
 ...

Proceedings of the Royal Irish Academy

Author: Royal Irish Academy

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page:

View: 863

Includes also Minutes of [the] Proceedings, and Report of [the] President and Council for the year (beginning 1965/66 called Annual report).

Supreme Court

A. There were none broken out. If there has been any I would have seen them but
if they were broken out it wouldn't make any difference, it is a guide for the wood.
- Q. Testimony further shows that the knife slots were broken, worn and ...

Supreme Court

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page:

View: 206

The Southeastern Reporter

charges to which objection was taken should y defendant , and the court below
did not err in cause a new trial ... and the knives was broken off by the wheel and
has no relation to municipal offices , created by thrown into petitioner's right eye ...

The Southeastern Reporter

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Page:

View: 902